'Seeking a seriously eco-conscious individual to share a very unique home & lifestyle.

Hello, i'm Karl, an IT-guy, working a 1/2-time gig with the University since June of '18. 'Been around Boulder for a long while. You can snoop my Projects page, to learn more about what i'm into, if you like.

The home is technically not "off-the-grid" but folks seem to often describe it that way, and it does have similar characteristics. We're located in a beautiful, peaceful, sunward-facing canyon setting off the base of Lee Hill in NW Boulder, barely into the foothills. It employs passive and active solar thermal. A grid-tied solar PV-electric system (w/ battery backup) that produces a net supply to the grid. Rooftop water harvesting system. Composting toilet. And a greywater recycling system. The house is a partial straw bale structure. Has a loft for guests. Spacious deck area. Wonderful views. Terraced garden beds. "Multi-species" bird coop (fresh eggs!). Detached sleeping "Shedroom". A solarium/greenhouse is in the works, and more coldframes are in the cards too. 'All employing permaculture practices. Excellent broadband internet with WiFi. Some limited storage space. Lot's of photos here.

The domicile tends to be warm & comfortable in the winter, rather than marginally or wholly cold &/or exorbitantly expensive* like you can probably otherwise expect elsewhere. Likewise, tends to be cool & comfortable in the summer, working with "passive AC".
* Of course that situation is only going to get worse, moving forward.

Strongly preferring car-free soul(s) since routine motoring is unsustainable and your car-free status would unambiguously indicate your commitment, which may otherwise be difficult to gauge in advance. 'Would also like to avoid having the place look like a parking lot by having multiple cars sitting around.
A cooperative solar-electric car-sharing option is negotiable (TBD).

Running with just 3 humans in this domicile, would be most prudent.
'Seek gender balance in the home, as well as maturity.

Pets?... we have some already that provide eggs, abundant entertainment, fertilizer, & need to roam freely w/o fear of fangs, etc.. While we'd love a feline, they just do not work in this house. A well behaved & pleasant canine is ever-so-slightly possible, but would be an additional expense.

'Not able to share the home with smokers. Not just "smoking", but smokers & those smells that linger.
Also not able to share the home with stoners. Occasional users, that's fine, but constant stoners?... nah.

What we're looking for is engaged participation in sustainable & cooperative living, and not merely renting a room. We do a CSA share with a local farm. Looking to share groceries, meals, knowledge, insights, discoveries, stories, music, typical chores, atypical chores, & projects.

Rent could be as little as $500 for an individual, more for a couple. Utilities are included.
With just one housemate, rent is $175/mo more, until such time as a 2nd (or really, 3rd, considering myself) housemate is procured. Who knows... maybe just two humans is workable for the longer-term, with occasional short-term guests. 'Trying to make the best of my investment here.

Some significant but limited opportunities for work-trade depending on a variety of factors. One definitely should not count on it to make the monthly rent ... way too many variables.

Availability is ~flexible.
We're patient & determined. Please don't try to rush us into some sort of quick decision.
'Found it best that prospective housemates come in on a "prospective basis" for the first couple of weeks.

There are plenty of nitty-gritties to discuss, but this should suffice for now.
'Appreciate sincere inquiries from folks who're looking for this sort of situation.
Thanks! Please write to:


The '+' is literal.

'Looking forward to meeting you... you're rare!